AMEC class of 2015 graduates

Six students in the Alabama Medical Education Consortium (AMEC) pipeline will 0504AMECGrads310x153 graduate this May. They have worked at SAMC as part of their third and/or fourth year rotation. From left are Sam Armstrong, Catherine Perrault, Katie White-Clemente, Michael Kinning and Joshua Ruiz. Sarah Heathcote is in the front. The students are from NOVA Southeastern College of Ostopathic Medicine (Nova), in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla and Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM) in Suwanee, Ga. AMEC has sent students to SAMC since fall 2008 to continue their clinical training. AMEC is merging with ACOM and SAMC will welcome 20 OMS-III ACOM students on July 27 as they begin their core clinical clerkships.

Memorial service for ACOM donor bodies

ACOM student Anthony Damico of St. Charles, Ill., lights a candle on March 19 in 1230ACOMCadaverMemorial310x153 honor of the cadaver used during his first year anatomy laboratory. Students hosted a memorial service to honor those who had donated their bodies to medical science. Dean Craig Lenz, DO, and Associate Dean James Foster, PhD, spoke at the ceremony about the unique educational experience in the lab, as well as the success of the Willed Body Program at ACOM. A representative from each of the 18 lab groups gave a speech thanking the families and donors for their beneficial contribution to their education.

New phone charging stations

The SAMC Foundation recently provided a grant for Information Systems to install 9401FoundationChargingStations310x153 charging stations in common areas of the hospital. This will allow visitors to charge their phones or other mobile devices. Charging stations are in the Oak Garden and Critical Care, Surgery and Emergency Department waiting areas. The stations will charge android and Apple devices, and will also accept USB cables. Up to 9 devices and 4 USB cables may be connected to the charger at once. In the photo, Melissa Pierce, Information Systems, installs a multiple phone charging station in the Critical Care waiting area.