6th Annual Sandi McCool-Champions of Hope resuts announced

COH RaceStart

6th Annual Champions of Hope

The Southeast Alabama Medical Center (SAMC) Foundation held its annual Sandi McCool Champions of Hope event on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at the campus of the new Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Navigating Breast Cancer

Join us for the next Sweet Tea Society event as Dr. Julia Alexander discusses how to navigate 0847JuliaAlexander310x153 SAMC’s Comprehensive Breast Center from mammograms to remission and all stops in between.

5:30 p.m. social hour — join us for cancer fighting refreshments and a healthy glass of green tea. Also navigate your way through “Name That City In A Song.” Amy D. from WOOF-FM’s morning show will play a portion of songs with a city in the title. The person who guesses the most right will win a $100 trip to the Women’s Center Boutique. 

Thursday, Nov. 7
6:30 p.m.
Depot off Main
Julia Alexander, MD
Radiology Associates of Dothan





Learning to navigate a breast cancer diagnosis

The SAMC Sweet Tea Society’s first Sip & Learn event for this fiscal year was held 2330SweetTea310x153 at The Depot off Main on November 7. More than 40 participants attended the event. SAMC Radiologist Julia Alexander, MD was the guest speaker; her topic was Breast Cancer is Never a Journey You Should Take By Yourself. She stressed the importance of women getting mammograms, early detection and treatment options for breast cancer, genetic testing and SAMC’s nurse navigation program. In the photo, Debra Stringer of the Southeast Regional Screening Program (SRSP) discusses how the SRSP benefits rural Wiregrass communities.